Showing posts with label rant. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rant. Show all posts

Wednesday, 16 November 2016

WTF bomb


So I flew squadron battles with LED as LastDingo, and early in the match I announced that the Challenger on the Charlie cap is dead, so rest of team would not waste time or munition on him. I was 100% positive, for my 500 kg bomb was very well-placed and the tank had already stopped behind a building.

Big 500 kg bomb incoming!

Big 500 kg bomb impacts, even scratches the tank!

Big 500 kg bomb exploded. Tank still alive!
 
43 seconds later: That Challenger tank was finally killed with the third 88 mm hit by Crazy.

SC500K
"260 kg of TNT"
"Max armor penetration: 116 mm"
"The radius of destruction of armored vehicles: 11 m"

Challenger tank: Hull front armour is 50 mm, maybe a little more with upgrades, but no way that grows to 117 mm.


And the tank didn't die to this bomb strike.


Bullshit. That's what it is.

Wednesday, 9 March 2016

The 100 deathmatch event and its exploiters



So there were two accounts with less kills than matches in that event, and they qualified for the top 300 free premium plane prize.
One of them scored only 8 kills in 84 matches, "improving" to 60 kills in 325 matches and later 257 kills in 355 matches.

You could "achieve" these stats (60/325) by having nothing but a bomber in your deck, then joining the queue and not doing anything else. The server would force-spawn you with the plane after a while in the match, the gunners would rarely kill some red plane and since you'd be force-spawned several times per match and fly straight forward to the reds, you'd end up having a kill once in a while.

So I suspect these accounts were rewarded for what was mostly or exclusively bot activity. I reported it in the forum and next time I went there to look for replies the topic was deleted, with no pm in my account.



This is some serious nonsense, but somewhat representative of Gaijin's design of competitions and events.

Do you remember the torpedo bomber event which allowed Beaufighters and B7A2s in? OF COURSE players used them to slaughter the Beauforts, Il-4s, Wellingtons and TBFs! Gaijin later removed the Beaufighters, but never removed the B7A2s. 

Gaijin is great at 3D models, fine at textures design and the ingame voice chat works surprisingly well, but they fail in too many things involving a requirement for logical thinking or anticipation of exploitative player behaviour.


Saturday, 27 February 2016

"Best Squad"



This must be the minimum effort necessary for "Best Squad" !

Wednesday, 3 February 2016

Inconsistent bomb effects in AB ground forces


I got used to ignore the ineffective 100 kg bombs of Il-2 and 50 or 60 kg bombs of Ju 88A-4 and D3A, but this is new:

Four 500 lbs bombs of Havoc were dropped on one StuG, super accurate.


This explosion was survived. One metre ahead at most.

Sunday, 24 January 2016

This is why SPAAGs are so unrealistically lethal AAA in ground forces:


They don't need to hit to kill a plane.
They only need to come close!



His first salvo clearly missed, his corrected second salvo hasn't even arrived, but he scored a kill already - by destroying the wing on the far side!

Sunday, 6 December 2015

Another display of team "quality"



15 players killed a collective 14 red tanks, losing 34 tanks in the process.
I've seen even worse statistics, but here's a particular appalling fact:
Those 15 players were fighting in the village on the Hürtgenwald map against a mere about 10 red players.
I was fighting all of the others at C in the south, alone!!!, and I had C for about half the time in my possession!

OF COURSE they talked shit on the chat when I called for reinforcements.

See? That's why I stopped playing tanks for a year:
The stupidity and cowardice of the players is even more evident in ground than in air battles.

Monday, 2 November 2015

Shit team


15 tank players scored a spectacular 7 tank kills, losing 38 tanks and the match in the process!

It's the same as in air combat; "teams" are coined by their 1 to 6 useful players, with all others being little more than decoys that protect the useful players by distracting opponents and keeping them at a distance. The "team" with more of the few useful players wins. In this case it was a hopeless 1 vs. 3 matchup, with 15 and 13 decoys respectively.

This reminds me of a presentation a Blizzard employee (a developer) gave on a conference on massive multiplayer gaming years ago: He admitted that a few per cent of the players will dominate the rest, no matter how the devs balance the PvP.

This fits to the central idea of the Pareto principle, although in 1 vs 1 comparisons a much smaller percentage than 20% stands out as vastly superior in multiplayer gaming.